a village about 10 km's west from Chania, following the road towards
Kissamos. It is situated by the mouth of the homonymous river Platanias (Iardanos
Homer). At the river's shore there are many plane trees -platania - which
explains the name of the village.
In the Venetian
inventories PLATANIAS is mentioned as Platanea and Pirgho Platanea,
there were possibly two different settlements. Originally the village was
built amphitheatrically on a high, rocky place with picturesque houses.
Now it has spread to the sea-side.
Opposite of PLATANIAS
is the island of St. Theodori or Thodorou. The Turks mention it as Tourlou-Andasi,
and the Venetians as San Theodoro or San Todaro. In 1574, during the
Venetian dominion, it was decided to fortify it, in order to prevent the
Turks from landing in PLATANIAS. So they built a multi-angled
fortress on the highest point of the island and called it Turluru, and another
multi-angled fortress at a lower level, which they called San Theodoro or
San Francesco. There we find a three-aisled chapel of the St. Theodori,
but only its foundations remain today. At the present time, the island
serves as a rearing place for the Cretan mountain goat, kri-kri.
In 1897, PLATANIAS
was the head quarters of the general Timoleon Vassos, during the Cretan
fight against the Turks.
beaches and the considerable touristic development, with numerous
facilities for the visitors, make PLATANIAS the most important
tourist centre of western Crete.